Bone Picking

There’s a bone I’ve been wanting to pick for some time. It’s with cool people. Let’s be clear, I have nothing against cool people per say; it takes all sorts to make a world and all that. It’s just the way some people give up their own opinions so they can feel cool. That seems silly to me. I’ve noticed two ways in which people do this:

  • Firstly, there are people who like things simply because those things are popular. This seems silly to me because it makes them seem like they don’t have the willpower to form or stick to their own opinions.
  • Secondly, there are people who dislike things just because those things are popular. This, in some ways, is even worse. It’s equally as brainless as liking popular things because they’re popular, but it often comes with a side-serving of superiority complex. These people seem to think that… you know what? I don’t even know what these people seem to think.

I think my irritation stems, in part, from the feeling that these people are judging me. I feel that people in the second group often assume that I am in the first group because I enjoy popular things. I personally wouldn’t count myself in either of these categories (but, I suppose, who would?).

Yes, I like Lady Gaga. Yes, I’m a gay man who enjoys musical theatre. Do I enjoy them because other people do, because I feel like I’m “supposed to”? No, I’ve tried them out for myself and evaluated them on their own merits. Have you actually *listened* to a Justin Bieber song (the way you’d listen to a band you consider socially acceptable)? Why not? “Because Justin Bieber is lame” – according to whom? It can’t be your opinion if you’ve never properly listened to any of his songs, so whose opinion is it?

I think what I’m trying to say is that if you think you’re “too cool” for something, I think you’re a douche : ) x

    • Mary
    • October 6th, 2011

    Per se… whose… Otherwise I agree. I always had my doubts about football fans, supporting the most popular team and switching allegiance when things start to slide.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

